Mississippi Auto Insurance Must-Haves

At Tackett Insurance Inc., we want our Memphis, TN, customers to understand the auto insurance that they have to have to drive legally on the state’s roads and the auto insurance they should add to protect their financial investment in their vehicle properly. Driving without insurance results in fines and the potential loss of your license if caught.

Mississippi Auto Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of Mississippi, like all other U.S. states, mandates auto insurance coverage for its drivers. The state requires 25/50/25 liability coverage. Let’s consider what that means each policy must have.

  • Bodily injury coverage for $25,000 per person per accident
  • Bodily injury coverage for $50,000 for all persons total per accident
  • Property damage for $25,000 per accident.

Each driver can choose to add other coverage to their policy, such as uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage, comprehensive, collision, medical payments, and roadside assistance.

Why Add Other Coverage?

The state-required insurance only covers your liability. If you cause an accident, the auto policy covers the injured party’s medical bills and damage to their vehicle. Adding coverage like collision protects you financially because it pays for your vehicle repairs or replacement. Comprehensive covers damage from acts of nature and humans, such as hail storms and riots. Without these additional types of insurance coverage, you would have to pay out of pocket for damage to your own vehicle or your medical expenses, which medical payments coverage handles.

Contact Tackett Insurance Inc. Today

Don’t back out of your Memphis, TN driveway without the appropriate auto insurance. Contact Tackett Insurance Inc. today to purchase or update your auto insurance so you can drive fully protected.